Instructors at Waterloo’s Renaissance School of the Arts

 

Our hand-selected instructors represent a cross-section of the Waterloo Region’s finest teachers and performing artists. Many are classically trained, (most have University bachelor degrees, while a few have attained Master’s level degrees as well as specialties in Education) and each must meet our own stringent qualification requirements. Each instructor is also a professional performing artist in her or his own right, bringing a high level of real-world experience to each lesson. Click on each name below for a picture and biographical information, or to contact any of our teachers via email.

Cedric Coleman
Bassoon
Hons.B.Mus. (Bassoon Performance)
M.Mus. (Bassoon Performance)
cedric@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Anthea Conway-White
Flute, Baroque Flute, Music Theory, Music History
M.Mus. (Historical Performance)
Hons.B. Mus. (Performance, Music Theory, Music History)
ARCT (Flute Performance)
anthea@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Edith Aeschbacher de Covach
Piano, Advanced Theory
RCM Certified Teacher (Elementary, Intermediate & Advanced Piano Specialist)
ARCT
ORMTA
ECM
edith@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Neil Douglas
Guitar
Hons. B.Mus.
B.Ed.
neil@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Katherine Finch
Cello
Hons.B.Mus. (Performance)
Advanced Performer’s Diploma
Hons.B.A. (Psychology) – in progress
katie@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Jean Galbraith
Piano, Theory
B.A.
B.Mus.Th.
jean@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Leah Grandmont
Violin
Hons.B.Mus. (in progress)
leah@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Joanna Guistini
Voice
joanna@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Thomas Henderson
Trombone, Trumpet, Euphonium, Tuba, Didjeridu, Piano
B.Sc. (Physics)
thomas@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Matthew Jones
Recorder
Hons.B.Mus.
matthew@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Gary Kidd
Clarinet, Saxophone
B.Mus.Ed.
gary@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Amanda Kind
Acting, Voice, Musical Theatre
Hons.B.A. (Music & Drama)
Opera Certificate (Kwantlen)
Performing Arts Certificate (CCPA)
amanda@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Steve Lehmann, Founding Director
Piano, Electric Bass, Theory, Composition, Arranging, MIDI Technology
Hons.B.Mus. (Composition)
steve@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Julia Mermelstein
Piano, Jazz Piano, Guitar, Theory, Composition
Bachelor of Fine Arts (Composition)
julia@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Katherine Napiwotzki
Voice
M.Mus. (Voice Performance & Vocal Pedagogy)
Hons.B.Mus. (Voice Performance)
katherine@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Karli Purcell
Voice
Hons.B.Mus. (Music Education)
karli@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Alex Showdra
Guitar
Hons.B.Mus. (in progress)
Alex@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Cameron Streicher
Piano, Theory
Hons.B.Mus. (Music Education, Music Theory)
cam@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Simon Tse
Voice, Piano
Hons.B.Mus. (Voice)
simon@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

James van der Heide
Piano, Theory
Hons.B.Mus. (Piano – in progress)
ARCT
james@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Trevor Wagler, Director
Piano, Horn, Theory, Composition, Orchestration & Arranging, Musicianship Skills
M.Mus. (Horn Performance)
Hons.B.Mus. (Composition)
Diploma in Performance (WLU)
Diploma in Chamber Music (WLU)
trevor@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Wendy Wagler
Flute, Piccolo, Theory
Flute Camp Director, Flute Choir Director
M.Mus. (Flute Performance)
Hons.B.Mus. (Flute Performance)
wendy@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Amanda Wilhelm
Voice
Hons.B.Mus. (Voice Performance)
Diploma in Opera
amanda.wilhelm@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com

Sarah Willett
Voice
Hons.B.Mus. (Education)
B.Ed.
sarah@RenaissanceSchooloftheArts.com